Level 495
rating: +36+x

SURVIVAL DIFFICULTY:

Class 1

  • {$one}
  • {$two}
  • {$three}
ferryman.jpg

The ferryman.

Description:

Level 495 is a riverbank covered in grey sand. There is no wind or weather, so the grains are still, only moved by the occasional wanderer who walks across them. Any indents made by footprints are quickly filled in, leaving no evidence that anyone had disturbed the shore. On one side is a river, its water cool and deep. Its width stretches further than the eye can see. No one who has attempted to cross it on their own has made it to the other side. The sky is dark but cloudless, a darkness that becomes more and more prominent as you go farther away from the river's shore until you can't see at all. No lights work there; the darkness envelops everything.

On the side of the river is a ferryman. They move their small boat, not with paddles, but with a long stick which they push into the river's floor. On one end of their stick is a lantern; its dim yellow glow cuts through the darkness, the only semblance of color that can be found within the level. Not much is known about the ferryman, as they don't seem much for conversation. They usually appear as an old man with a tattered black coat and long unkempt beard, black, save for a few stains scattered throughout. Though, they have also appeared as a young boy with a white t-shirt and cargo shorts or a teenage girl with a floral summer dress. Their eyes are always grey and almost seem like they don't see anything, always seeming to look past what's in front of them; into the distance, the darkness. Occasionally, they will let someone cross. For this, they require a payment. Any coin will do. It does not matter how much it's worth or even what type of coin it is. The ferryman has been seen to accept pennies and even plastic tokens. The ferry seems to be the only way to truly cross the river, but the ferryman's boat always returns empty, and they've never told anyone what's on the other side.

Oftentimes figures will walk out from the darkness. They look almost human except for their dulled colors and faintly visible translucency. These figures don't seem to notice any wanderers, and if you try to physically interact with them, they will pass through you. When they reach the riverbank, they usually pull out a coin, sometimes from a pocket, a purse, or even from under their tongue. At this point, the ferryman takes them across. Not all produce a coin, however, and those who don't simply walk along the river's edge until they can no longer be seen.

Entrances and Exits:

Entrances:

Known entrances to Level 495 include a passageway in Level 75, a crevice in Level 135, and the bottom of the lake in Level 494. All of these entrances emerge in the dark part of the level, but it's easy to make your way to the river by just following the light.

Exits:

Occasionally, in the dark part of the level, opposite to the river, you may come across a doorway. These doorways vary in make and design and always seem empty until you walk through them. Known doorways lead to Level 372, Level 97, Level 28, and Level 899. Some believe that there is another exit on the other side of the river, but no one knows for sure.

I see them emerge from the shadows, packs on their back. They walk. They walk. They walk, but their journey is almost over. I see a mother holding a baby against her breast. A rare sight; the travelers usually walk alone. She only has a single coin, so she pauses and then gives both the baby and the coin to the ferryman. She's come so far, but there are more important things than her. The ferryman leaves, and she begins to walk again, this time along the bank, against the flow of the river. She's walked so far; what are a few more steps? What is an eternity of steps? At least her baby made it. For that, it's worth it to never see the light again. For that, it's worth it to keep walking. This time in no direction. This time just because it's all she can do. The dawn will never again break, but that's alright.

For just a moment, she brought something into this world. And he would take them both out just a few minutes later. Both his life and his death shorter than her eternity. And they walk.


Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License

Уровень 495
рейтинг: +5+x

СЛОЖНОСТЬ ВЫЖИВАНИЯ:

Класс 1

  • {$one}
  • {$two}
  • {$three}
ferryman.jpg

Перевозчик.

Описание:

Уровень 495 – это берег реки, покрытый серым песком. Здесь нет ни ветра, ни погоды, поэтому песчинки неподвижны, и лишь случайный странник, проходящий по ним, приводит их в движение. Любые углубления от следов быстро засыпаются, не оставляя никаких признаков того, что кто-то потревожил берег. С одной стороны протекает река, вода в ней прохладная и глубокая. Её ширина простирается дальше, чем можно увидеть. Никто из тех, кто пытался перейти её самостоятельно, не смог добраться до другого берега. Небо тёмное, но безоблачное, темнота становится всё более заметной по мере удаления от берега реки, пока не становится совсем не видно. Там не работает ни один фонарь; тьма окутывает всё вокруг.

На берегу реки стоит перевозчик. Он двигает свою маленькую лодку не вёслами, а длинной палкой, которую втыкает в дно реки. На одном конце палки – фонарь; его тусклое жёлтое свечение прорезает темноту — это единственное подобие цвета, которое можно найти на этом уровне. О перевозчике известно немного, так как он не очень-то разговорчив. Обычно он появляется в виде старика в равном чёрном плаще и с длинной неухоженной бородой, чёрный, за исключением нескольких пятен, разбросанных по всему телу. Однако он также появляется в виде молодого парня в белой футболке и шортах, или девочки подростка в цветочном летнем платье. Его глаза всегда серые, и кажется, что он ничего не видит, всегда смотрит мимо того, что перед ним, вдаль, в темноту. Изредка он пропускает кого-нибудь через дорогу. За это он требует плату. Подойдёт любая монета. Неважно, сколько она стоит и даже какого она типа. Бывало, что перевозчик принимал копейки и даже пластиковые жетоны. Перевозчик кажется единственным способ по-настоящему пересечь реку, но лодка перевозчика всегда возвращается пустой, и он никогда никому не говорил, что находится на другом берегу.

Часто из темноты выходят фигуры. Они выглядят почти как люди, за исключением их тусклых цветов и слабо различимой прозрачности. Эти фигуры, кажется, не замечают странников, и, если вы попытаетесь физически взаимодействовать с ними, они пройдут сквозь вас. Когда они достигают берега реки, то обычно достают монеты, иногда из кармана, кошелька или даже из-под языка. В этот момент перевозчик переправляет их на другой берег. Однако не все достают монеты, а те, кто не достают, просто идут вдоль берега реки, пока их не перестанут видеть.

Входы и выходы:

Входы:

Известные входы на уровень 495 включают в себя проход на уровне 75, расщелина на уровне 135 и дно озера на уровне 494. Все эти входы ведут в тёмную часть уровня, но вы легко доберётесь до реки, просто следуя за светом.

Выходы:

Иногда в тёмной части уровня, напротив реки, вы можете наткнуться на дверной проём. Эти дверные проёмы различаются по конструкции и дизайну, и всегда кажутся пустыми, пока вы не пройдёте через них. Известные двери ведут на уровень 372, уровень 97, уровень 28 и уровень 899. Некоторые считают, что есть ещё один выход на другой стороне реки, но никто не знает наверняка.

Я вижу, как они выходят из тени, на спине у них рюкзаки. Они идут. Они идут, но их путь почти окончен. Я вижу мать, прижимающую к груди ребёнка. Редкое зрелище; путники обычно ходят в одиночку. У неё всего одна монета, поэтому она останавливается и отдаёт и ребёнка, и монету перевозчику. Она зашла так далеко, но есть вещи поважнее её. Перевозчик уходит, а она снова начинает идти, на этот раз вдоль берега, против течения реки. Она зашла так далеко, что вообще стоит сделать ещё несколько шагов? Какого это — шагать вечность? По крайней мере, её ребёнок выжил. Ради этого стоит никогда больше не увидеть свет. Ради этого стоит продолжать идти. На этот раз без направления. Просто потому, что это всё, что она может сделать. Рассвет больше никогда не наступит, но это не страшно.

Всего на мгновение она принесла в этот мир нечто. А через несколько минут он заберёт их обоих. И его жизнь, и его смерть короче её вечности. И они идут.


Пока не указано иное, содержимое этой страницы распространяется по лицензии Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License